Houston Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer
Our Car Accident Attorneys Are Ready to Win
Being in a car accident is upsetting and frustrating, only worsened if you sustain an injury. Unfortunately, it gets even worse if you are injured in a hit-and-run accident. These collisions can result in minor or severe damage, and the State takes them very seriously.
Depending on the damage, the fleeing driver can face misdemeanor or even felony charges. But, it leaves the victim with a lot of uncertainty. If the driver isn’t caught, it’s difficult to recover the compensation you need. Working with an experienced attorney is paramount to protect your best interests.
At Herbert Trial Law, we represent hit-and-run accident victims. We understand insurance laws and how the companies operate. Moreover, we have a track record of obtaining favorable settlements even when someone’s claim was already denied. Our team is ready to help you understand your situation and fight to protect your rights.
What Is a Hit-and-Run Accident?
Texas law requires drivers involved in a car accident to remain at the scene. When someone hits you and doesn’t stop to exchange insurance information, it’s a hit-and-run accident. Beyond the negligence that caused the crash, they broke the law. At Herbert Trial Law, we can fight for your rights, and we are always Ready to Win.
Unfortunately, victims of this type of accident have a hard time recovering financial compensation for injuries and property damage. Once the person flees the scene, it’s difficult to find them. Moreover, their motivation to leave may be that they don’t have car insurance or even a driver’s license. Alternatively, they may have a warrant out for their arrest.
Still, these drivers leave injured people in their wake. Often, those people need medical treatment, which leads to bills piling up for their expenses and property damage. With our experienced attorneys on your side, you have a team to help you explore your options to pursue compensation.
How Do I Obtain Compensation After a Hit-and-Run Accident?
If you or the police can identify the driver, you can file a personal injury claim even without formal charges or a conviction. Our attorneys file your claim to seek compensation for medical bills, property damage, lost income, pain and suffering, and other damages.
Additionally, there’s potential for punitive damages if a judge decides to punish the driver as a means to deter others from breaking the law.
If you cannot find the driver, you have the option to file a claim on your own insurance policy. However, this requires that you have Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage. Texas law requires that insurance companies offer this coverage, but it is not a default part of your policy.
This coverage allows you to file a claim for injuries you and your passengers receive in accidents with uninsured drivers. That includes hit-and-run drivers.
If you purchase this coverage, the minimum amount is equal to the mandatory minimum state law requires of all drivers.
- $30,000 for each injured person
- $60,000 for injuries per incident
- $25,000 for property damage
Uninsured motorist claims have strict deadlines, so it is important to work quickly. If you fail to file a UM claim in time, your insurer can deny compensation. That’s why you need to call the police immediately after you are hit and the driver flees the scene.
Then, seek medical treatment if you don’t receive it at the scene. Reports from the police as well as medical professionals are essential evidence to support your claim.
What Should I Do If a Driver Hits Me and Runs?
- Don’t pursue the driver. The other driver may be dangerous, so it’s best to let authorities handle them.
- Call 911 and report the accident. Provide all the details you remember about the driver and their vehicle. If you can remember the license plate, even a partial, it can help them identify the driver.
- Gather contact information. If there are any witnesses, ask for their name, address, and phone number.
- Document the scene. Take pictures of your vehicle and the surrounding area.
- Seek medical attention. Even if you feel “fine,” it’s important to go to a doctor and follow any treatment plan they provide.
If you are hurt in a hit-and-run accident, seek out an attorney quickly. The statute of limitations begins at the date of the accident. It’s important to build your case right away before you forget or lose any evidence or memories.
Schedule a FREE Consultation with Our Houston Attorneys
At Herbert Trial Law, we help victims of negligent parties fight for the compensation they deserve. We know all too well how an injury impacts your life physically, financially, and emotionally. Our legal team takes these cases very seriously and works to build a strong case so that you recover the highest level of compensation possible.
Often, cost is a concern that prevents people from seeking legal assistance. When you work with our firm, we represent you on a contingency fee basis. This means you pay us nothing unless we recover your compensation.
Schedule a free consultation with one of our experienced attorneys today. We are ready to start your case, and we are ready to win.
Call Us Now.
10 minutes can make all the difference.
Ready to Win?
Schedule a FREE Consultation
This was my first time being in this type of situation and I’m glad I chose them to fight for me.